Monday, February 2, 2015

Willow Lake Park

Located in Kongdong District, Willow Lake Park is a famous park in Pingliang City. Covering an area of 8.8 hectares, it is a natural park known for the unique sight of having willows in the lake and having lake in the willows. Every late spring, willow catkins dance everywhere around the lake and this wonderful sight is known as "Snow Flies in the Clear Day around the Willow Lake". The western part of the willow lake measures 4.9 feet deep and the eastern part measures 6.6 to 9.8 feet deep. Nuanquan, "Warm Spring" is the source of the willow lake. The spring remains at a high temperature all year round, no matter how the weather changes.
Since ancient times, people living in Pingliang have treasured this Willow Lake very much, because Pingliang City is located in the dry gullies in the Loess Plateau. Lacking the nourishing from water and green plants, the land is threatened by droughts all the year round. Therefore, the Willow Lake becomes very precious in this dry land. It is really a pearl in the vast Loess Plateau.
The Willow Lake got its name from Yuan Dynasty and the extension of it started from Song Dynasty. In all dynasties, it was the place where officials spent summer and men of letters came to teach and read. The common people would not be allowed to enter it. After China's liberation, it was opened to the public, thus local people could have a chance to view this beautiful sight in their hometown. The rising and declining of the park reflects the ups and downs of Pingliang in history.
The lake originates from the Warm Spring, with a stone tablet standing beside, in which Zuo Zongtang (a famous Chinese general in Qing Dynasty) has inscribed above two big characters ‘Warm Spring and below an epigraph that Pingliang is cold for its height, and the same is true to the springs; while the spring here is warm, even in cold winter, it is not frozen.’.
For more information, please visit www.top-chinatour.com

Sunday, February 1, 2015

Liqian Ancient City

Liqian is a defunct county in today's northern province of Gansu in China. Today, the ancient Liqian city is situated in a village called Zhelaizhai. Walk in Zhelaizhai Village, visitors may be surprised at the appearance of some local dwellers. They look like Europeans to some degree and they keep some customs which are different to Chinese Han People. Are they totally sure of their Han identity?
The area of the former Liqian city is known for its inhabitants. Some people there have Caucasian-like physical traits, such as Aquiline noses, blond or light-colored hair, blue or green eyes, and fairer skin tone. In the 20th century, theories have developed suggesting some inhabitants may be descended from Roman legionaries.
In the 1940s, Homer H. Dubs, a professor of Chinese history at the University of Oxford, made a connection between Liqian and ancient Rome. He suggested the inhabitants were descendants from Roman prisoners of war from the Battle of Carrhae. These troops were resettled by the victorious Parthians on their eastern border and, according to Dubs, may have become mercenaries who took part in the Battle of Zhizhi between the Chinese and the Xiongnu in 36 B.C. Records by Chinese chroniclers mention the capture of a "fish-scale formation" of soldiers, which Dubs believed referred to the testudo formation, a Roman phalanx surrounded by shields on all sides.
Behind the courtyards in the west of the village, there is a broken section of the old city wall built in an "S" shape. This measures 11 yards long and three feet tall. Scientists have pointed out that this insignificant mud wall is part of the Liqian Ancient City Relic. Near the wall stands a white pavilion, built in ancient Rome architectural style.
However, there is no final conclusion on the issue of whether or not the local villagers are the descendants of the Roman army.  There are also many other arguments on the related topics. After all, this is a complicated problem involving many disciplines such as the science of history, anthropology and archaeology. Experts are doing further researches and studies to draw a conclusion as soon as possible.
For more information, please visit www.top-chinatour.com

Saturday, January 31, 2015

Langmu Monastery

In Langmu, in the south of Gansu, there is a monastery which is divided into two parts by the Bailongjiang River, one half belonging to Sichuan and the other to Gansu. It has two Tibetan monasteries and two schools. The Tibetans who live in Langmu Monastery share the living habits in daily life and often also the religious activities. Langmusi is an ideal destination for the backpackers, quiet and picturesque.
It is not only a name for a monastery, but also a name for a township where Buddhist and Islamic believers live a leisurely life style. Langmu monastery is a place where you can experience both Tibetan Buddhism and Islamic culture. Historically Langmu monastery was the center of local religion, culture, economy and politics. Langmu Monastery’s whole name is “Dacang Lamu Gerdeng Monastery”. In the Tibetan language, Dacang means Tigers’ den. According to legend it got this name because there is a big hole which was called the “tiger’s den” where many tigers lived.   Langmu means fairy maiden because many stones in the cave look like pretty girls. So the name “Dacang Langmu” can be translated as "a fairy maiden in the tiger's den".
The two Tibetan monasteries are very famous Gelu monasteries named Kerti Gompa and Serti Gompa. Kerti Gompa is the biggest and most impressive Gelu Monastery in whole Aba area and belongs to Sichuan province since it is located on Sichuan’s side of the river. In 1413, the first Kerti incarnated lama named Kerti Jiangcan, built a small hermitage in Dacang Langmu. In 1713, the second lineage of Kerti incarnated lama named Tala built a small temple. And later the incarnated lama named Quzong established a small temple again in the same location. At present this monastery is composed of five temples, one monastic college and about 650 monks.
Behind the Kerti Monastery there is a gorgeous and sacred gorge. The source of Bailong River is in this beautiful rocky gorge. It is also the location of the famous “Tiger’s den,” as well as the caves of the fairy maidens. In one of the fairy caves there is a natural Tibetan goddess statue called Palden Lhamo. After about 20 or 30 minutes walk through the gorge, you will reach abroad and beautiful grassland.
For more information, please visit www.top-chinatour.com

Friday, January 30, 2015

Confucian Temple

Located in the southeast part of Wuwei City, the Confucian Temple is actually a temple in memory of Confucius who was a famous educator in the Spring and Autumn Period. It was built in the 4th year (1,439 A.D.) during the period of Zhengtong in the Ming Dynasty (1,368- A.D.-1,644 A.D.), which is actually a magnificent architecture cluster with the title of “the Champion of the Academy in Gansu Province”. The temple has a history of more than 500 years and covers an area of a little over 1,500 square meters and is the largest and best-preserved temple dedicated to Confucius in Gansu Province.
The part on the eastern side is called the Wenchang Temple and is accessed via the Mountain Gate (Shanmen). Here you will find a stage for dramatic performances. On the left and right hand sides of the Temple are the shrines of Master Niu and Master Liu respectively while on the side opposite the entrance is the Chongsheng Shrine or Shrine of Worship. The courtyard with an array of various lush green pine trees has a collection of highly prized and famous stones steles. The most famous of these is the Western Xia (1038-1227AD) Tablet, a listed Chinese national treasure.
The Confucius Temple occupies a central position in the Confucian Temple complex and it is here that offerings are made in honor of Confucius. Other notable structures to be found here are the Dacheng Hall, Hastate Gate (Jimen), Lattice Gate(Lingxingmen), the Bridgeof the "Number One Scholar" (Zhuangyuan Bridge) and the Banchi Pool. These latter features are in the south side of the complex. To the north there is the Sutra pavilion and in the west is the Liangzhou Mansion that houses the Confucian Academy.
The well-preserved and symmetrically aligned historic buildings together with the collection of stone steles and fine collection of scriptures means that Confucian Temple occupies a very important position in the cultural heritage of the Chinese nation as a whole.
Now the temple functions as a museum- Wuwei Museum. There are more than 44,000 culture relics in the temple. There are the Bronze Flying Horse, the Medicine Bamboo slips, the Etiquette Bamboo slips, the wood carvings and the stone inscriptions from the Tang Dynasty in the museum. There are also 7 exhibit halls in the museum, which display the character descriptions and photos, reflecting the history of Wuwei City from the New Stone Age to the Qing Dynasty (1,616 A.D.-1,911 A.D.). There are more and more visitors from all over the world to come here for visiting and researching every year.
For more information, please visit www.top-chinatour.com

Thursday, January 29, 2015

Kongtong Mountain-----"The Holy Land of Taoism"

Kongtong Mountains is one of the sacred mountains of Taoism. It is located 7.5 miles to the west of Pingliang City in Gansu Province. It is the mythical meeting site between the Huangdi (also known as Yellow Emperor) and Guangchengzi. It is said that an immortal named Guangchengzi once lived in a stone cave in the mountain, and the Yellow Emperor once came here to hear his preaching. So it is said to be one of the birthplaces of Taoism in China. Kongtong Mountain boasts dozens of grotesque peaks. It is covered with dense forests rolling from one steep peak to the other.
Huge mountains stand one after another with vast patches of green forests as their clothes and ethereal mist as their white belt. Kongtong Mountain is abundant in stone caves and houses, many of which are located in the cliffs or dense forest where nobody sets foot. The famous ones include Guangcheng Cave, Zhaoyang Cave, Xuanhe Cave and Kongtong Cave. In addition, Kongtong Mountain is a rich water resource. The Yanzhi River flows from the north. Every spring, peach blossoms fall into the water and float on the current: a lovely sight. At the foot of the mountain, Tanzheng Lake flows calmly like a mirror, and its murmuring water sounds like a Chinese zither, giving the lake its name, Tanzheng Lake (Playing Zither Lake). 

Kongtong Mountain is the holy mountain of three religions: Taoism, Buddhism and Confucianism. It is said that Taoism temples were being built on the mountain as early as in the Wei (220-265) and Jin (265-420) Dynasties. In the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), construction began on Taihe Palace and other attached Taoist buildings. Since then, Taoism has been handed down from one generation to another. Buddhism also flourished in Kongtong Mountain, as evidence of Buddhist rituals can be found in it from the Tang Dynasty (618-907). There are 19 Buddhist temples from the early Qing Dynasty (1644-1911). Today Buddhism and Taoism grow together in a harmonious atmosphere on the mountain, a situation which is unique to Kongtong Mountain. In addition, Kongtong Mountain has cultivated many Confucianism scholars such as Huang Fumi, the talented founder of Chinese Acupuncture


Kongtong Mountain is home to various species. There are over 1,000 kinds of plants, many of which are precious medicinal herbs. The famous trees include Chinese pines and cypresses. Some trees are about one thousand years old but still grow vigorously with green boughs covering the sunlight. Over 300 kinds of wild animals live protected on Kongtong Mountain. Among them, the vulture, sparrow-hawk, white crane, and leopard are listed in rosters for the national conservation of wild life. 




As one of the most famous Taoist Fairyland well known for its wonderful scenes, Kongtong has its name“Kongtong”meaning “emptiness, lustration and naturalness” in the doctrine of Taoism religion. Kongtong Mountain is also highlighted as one of important places for health maintenance. Tourists can enjoy the wonderful landscapes, the beautiful trees and flowers, the interesting caves, strange rocks and the running clouds. With precipitous scenery of natural beauty and ancient cultural leftovers in collection, this mountain is worth for both landscape appreciation and cultural relics review.
For more information, please visit www.top-chinatour.com

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Wine Spring (Jiuquan) of the Western Han Dynasty

Jiuquan is located in the middle section of the Gansu Corridor in northwest Gansu Province. It was an important town on the Silk Road and a strategic point in military contests of the past. Today it has become an important hub of communications in western China, linking Xinjiang to the west with other parts of the county by railways and highways. Jiuquan also has rich mineral resources. Its steel production has reached 500,000 tons per year, making it an important steel center in northwest China. 
The main scenic spots in the park are Spring Lake, the wine spring of the Western Han Dynasty, and a large ancient garden architecture complex. Among them, the wine spring of Western Han Dynasty is the highlight to see and has a beautiful story to share. In 121BC of the Western Han Dynasty, the General Huo Qubing from the Han Court won a total victory in the famous Hexi Battle against Huns. In order to celebrate the success, the Emperor Wu awarded him a pot of luscious wine. The General Huo thought the contribution should have come to the whole army. So he poured the wine into the spring and drank it with his soldiers,thus the spring got the beautiful name "Wine Spring".
The southern gate of the park is the main entrance. Its unique appearance is appealing to visitors. It is an arched gateway built by imitating Hanque, a typical monumental architecture erected in pairs outside city gates or complex of buildings to express the awe-inspiring bearing in Han Dynasty. Designed in simple and original manner, the gate shows the profound historical culture and distinctive flavor of the park.

What's more, the park well keeps many stone steles carved by celebrities in Qing Dynasty, such as the stele with four big characters "Da Di Ti Hu" (the essence of the beautiful land) on wrote by the minister Zuo Zongtang. The park has been damaged for several times in history. In 1865, it was nearly deserted during the war. In 1873 after Zuo Zongtang reoccupied the Hexi area, the park got repaired and planted with many kinds of trees. But later in the period of the Republic of China, it was severely destroyed again. In 1943, the commander Yang Deliang spent three years to renovate it after being abandoned for years.
Now the water of the springs in the park tastes sweet and cool in summer and it’s suitable for drinking. And it does not freeze in the winter. Walk around the springs, you will see a mirror-like lake surrounded by artificial hills. The lake is divided into two parts by a huge stone arch bridge. In winters, it is iced over into a nice skating rink. The zoo to the west of the park keeps a variety of animals such as birds, bears, Golden Monkeys, pandas, wild camels and yaks for visitors to see. 
For more information, please visit www.top-chinatour.com

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Giant Buddha Temple

The Giant Buddha Temple (Dafo Temple) in Zhangye city, about 600 kilometers west of Gansu's provincial capital Lanzhou, is named after a statue worshiped inside. The temple, also known as "Wofo Temple" (Sleeping Buddha Temple), is very famous because it contains the biggest indoor sleeping Buddha in all of China. The buddha is 34.5 meter long and its shoulder spans across a width of 7.5 meters. Up to eight people can stand on the ear of the reclining Buddha.
Established in 1098 (Western Xia Dynasty), it was rebuilt during the Qing Dynasty (1644-1912). Due to its extensive history, it is listed as an immovable cultural relic under state protection.Located in the northeast of Zhangye city, Dafo Temple, also known as "Wofo Temple" (Sleeping Buddha Temple) is very famous because it contains the biggest indoor sleeping Buddha in all of China. The buddha is 34.5 meter long and its shoulder spans across a width of 7.5 meters. Established in 1098 (Western Xia Dynasty), it was rebuilt during the Qing Dynasty (1644-1912). Due to its extensive history, it is listed as an immovable cultural relic under state protection.
The existing complex consists of the Giant Buddha Hall, the Buddhist Classics Hall, and a Clay Pagoda. The two-storied Giant Buddha Hall is 33 meters high, 49 meters wide and 24 meters long, with a total area of 1770 square meters. The gold-plated and painted Giant Buddha lies in the Nirvana situation in the middle of the hall. The whole Buddha is 34.5 meters long and 7.5 meters wide between its two shoulders, with feet of 4 meters and ears of 2 meters. The Buddha's calm expression moves visitors. Behind the Buddha are 10 disciples, and in two side halls stand 18 Saintly Warriors. The walls of the hall are covered with colorful murals, which depict episodes from the Mountain-sea Sutra (an ancient Chinese encyclopedia) and from Journey to the West (a celebrated novel written in the Ming Dynasty).
In the Buddhist Classics Hall, there are more than 6000 tomes of lectures, some of which, written in gold and silver, are the rarest and most precious. The Clay Pagoda, one of the Five Elements Pagodas in Zhangye, has 13 stories, on the first and the second stories of which are four miniature pagodas, a feature rarely seen in other pagodas.
For more information, please visit www.top-chinatour.com